Author Topic: Deciding between 2 alternatives: tips anyone?  (Read 2371 times)

Offline Mike Morrell (NL)

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Netherlands
    • View Profile
Deciding between 2 alternatives: tips anyone?
« on: Sunday 19 March 17 17:13 GMT (UK) »
I'm a newbie here so forgive me for asking a question that has been answered many times in the past! I'd be happy if someone would give me a link to relevant articles, threads or posts.

I'm not completely new to Genealogy so I'm used to tracking people through census, birth/baptism and marriage/marriage-bann records. I try to do this as securely as possible by verifying ages, addresses, occupations etc.

I've come across a situation in which one my ancestors who I'm certain of in 1851 (married 2 years earlier) could - as a teenager - be one of two people (A or B) in the UK census of 1841. The census data of his married years indicate that his date of birth is between 1828 and 1830. This points to him being person A. However, the first names of his first two children correspond with the parents' names of person B (born in 1831). Both A and B were born with within 2 years of 1829.

Any tips on how to distinguish between "James A" and "James B"?

Thanks,

Mike

Photo restorers may re-use and improve on my posted versions. Acknowledgement appreciated.

Offline KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Deciding between 2 alternatives: tips anyone?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 19 March 17 17:17 GMT (UK) »
Welcome to RootsChat! ;D

Any marriage certificate should name his father.
Does that help to solve the issue?
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline groom

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Me aged 3. Tidied up thanks to Wiggy.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 19 March 17 17:36 GMT (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat.