Author Topic: Another Uniform for identification please?  (Read 1212 times)

Offline sandrastocks54

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Another Uniform for identification please?
« on: Saturday 08 April 17 16:02 BST (UK) »
Does anybody know what uniform this chap is wearing please?  It looks like it could be a policeman's uniform to me, but I'm no expert.

Photo was taken by J W Berry, of Hudson Street, Rochdale.

Many thanks for any help
Sandra

Offline MaxD

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Another Uniform for identification please?
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 08 April 17 16:40 BST (UK) »
Great War period army uniform.  Regiment difficult.  The shoulder titles could be ending in an A which would suggest one of the Royal Artillery branches.  The lanyard on the left shoulder also implies Royal Artillery.   He is wearing the ribbon of the 1914 or 1914/15 Star which was authorised to be worn by those who had qualified in 1918/19, so he served before the end of 1915.  He has two stripes so a Corporal (Bombardier in the RA after 1920).

maxD
I am Zoe Northeast, granddaughter of Maximilian Double.

It is with great difficulty I share with you that in the early hours of 07 August 2021, Maximilian passed away unexpectedly but peacefully.

With deep sadness,
Zoe

Double  Essex/Suffolk
Randle/Millington Warwicks
Sokser/Klingler Austria/Croatia

Offline Adrian Stevenson

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 08 April 17 16:43 BST (UK) »
I would agree with Max. Royal Artillery.

Cheers, Ade,
Stevensons of Ruddington. Haplogroup  I FCG24357. MT Haplogroup T2c1. GedMatch number T419829

Offline sandrastocks54

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 08 April 17 17:31 BST (UK) »
Many thanks both of you for your help.  You got such a lot of information out of the photo - I'm amazed!

Thanks again
Sandra