Author Topic: Do I have the correct James Gow?  (Read 3597 times)

Offline Curlea

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Do I have the correct James Gow?
« on: Tuesday 25 April 17 00:57 BST (UK) »
I'll start by saying that I'm a newbie, so apologies straight up if I'm not doing this correctly.

My GGG James Gow emigrated to Launceston in 1855 from Scotland, d 1890 aged 66 (hence dob approx 1824). Married Elizabeth Blamey in Edinburgh 17/6/1851 (she from Cornwell). He was a plasterer in Australia and I have found a James Gow in the 1851 census in the same Parish he was married in, as a mason, 27 years old born in Creif.  Searching the SP database there is also another James Gow 27 Living in Edinburgh from Creif who was a soldier - hence my uncertainty with his parents.

I think that he is the son of Angus and Janet Alexander DOB Feb 1824 (in the parish of Alyth) as Angus Gow (born in Blair Atholl i think) was also a Mason. Help with this would also be appreciated.
My reason is that a Jean Alexander is listed in the 1841 census with a James Gow (15) as a Mason's ap, so I am thinking that he is living with his grandmother and thus the reason that I think his parents were Angus and Janet.

Any help with this would be most appreciated.

Offline maddys52

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information is Crown Copyright http://www.
    • View Profile
Re: Do I have the correct James Gow?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 25 April 17 04:06 BST (UK) »
Hello Curlea and welcome to rootschat!

Is this the death of your James GOW? died 1890 in Tasmania.
http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article39556164

and
http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article150353567
says native of Perthshire

Do you have a death certificate, or a marriage certificate which might have the names of James parents?