Author Topic: To restorers: tips for learning how to restore old photographs?  (Read 5180 times)

Offline Mike Morrell (NL)

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Netherlands
    • View Profile
To restorers: tips for learning how to restore old photographs?
« on: Thursday 04 May 17 15:07 BST (UK) »
Hi all,

I'd like to learn more about how to digitally restore old photographs. For my own photos but also to contribute more to Rootschat. Google shows various online resources for this and there's plenty I still need to read and practice. But I wonder whether you have some good tips on how and where to start learning? Are there books/websites/video's/online courses that you've found valuable?

I found a previous thread on this topic from 2007 but many of the links in restoration are now 'dead'.

As an amateur photographer I use Adobe Lightroom for 'adjusting' 95% of the digital photo's I want to keep. For the other 5% (for which I need to use multiple layers), I use Photoshop. I'm reasonably competent in using both programs along with various 'plug-ins' for additional filters/enhancements. So I'm not looking for advice on basic software. I'm more interested in how to apply these kinds of programs/filters/enhancements in restoring old photographs.  I've already bookmarked a couple of websites but I'd welcome any tips/links from experienced restorers.

Thanks in advance,

Mike
Photo restorers may re-use and improve on my posted versions. Acknowledgement appreciated.

Offline Handypandy

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: To restorers: tips for learning how to restore old photographs?
« Reply #1 on: Friday 05 May 17 20:30 BST (UK) »