Author Topic: Isabella Heron born 1924 in New Cumnock  (Read 3539 times)

Offline KatieJJones

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Isabella Heron born 1924 in New Cumnock
« on: Friday 05 May 17 10:54 BST (UK) »
Hi RootsChat.

I'm pretty new to Scottish Ancestry and so far I've seen quite a fair few differences between searching Scotland Ancestry and England Ancestry so I'm hoping some people can help here.

I'm looking up a woman by the name of Isabella Heron born 1924 in New Cumnock. I don't know what her parents are called so I have no idea how to take a generation back from this and as I'm sure you all know the Birth Registrations on the Scottish gro don't list Mothers Maiden names which... actually surprised me.

I looked up a male Heron marrying before 1924 and 2 have caught my eye. One in Old Cumnock and one in New Cumnock. I don't know anything about Scottish Geography so I don't know where places in Scotland are without using a map.

I was wondering if people knew any pretty good websites to help me or at least their input on this matter.

Thanks a bunch!
Brady, Carrington, Cox, Dunham, Everill, Few, Hartland, Johnson, Jones, Neep, Sanders, Walker, Ward and Wilding

Offline pharmaT

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: [Help Request]Scottish Ancestry
« Reply #1 on: Friday 05 May 17 11:08 BST (UK) »
Hi the indexes on SP don't note mothers maiden name but the certificates give you so much more information than English or Welsh certificates.  If you get her actual birth certificate it will give her parent's names and date and place of marriage.

Old and New Cumnock are very close to each other, right next to each other in fact, 7 miles from the centre of one to the centre of the other.
Campbell, Dunn, Dickson, Fell, Forest, Norie, Pratt, Somerville, Thompson, Tyler among others

Offline dowdstree

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Mary Malcolm - 1860 to 1945 - My Great Granny