Author Topic: Georges RICHMOND, born in Ayr on 20 December, 1681.  (Read 1242 times)

Offline Aks

• RootsChat Senior
  • Photo - Annie Pomeroy
    • View Profile
Georges RICHMOND, born in Ayr on 20 December, 1681.
« on: Sunday 07 May 17 08:04 BST (UK) »
I offered to help a French acquaintance  with some genealogical research in England, but I didn't realize how far he had already gotten back already or that his ascendants originally came from Scotland, where I have little experience in doing research.

His family tree goes as far back as Georges RICHMOND, who was born in Ayr on 20 December, 1681. Georges came down to Crosscanonby, where he married Hanna PHANACKER (born in 1680 in Crosscanonby) on 18 October 1707.

Does anyone know where I could find Georges' birth record and possibly identify his ancestors?

George and Hanna's son, George RICHMOND, born on 5 November 1707 in Crosscanonby, Cumberland, married Marie Elizabeth BALLE (or BALLET), a French lady, on 9 April 1744, at the church of Saint Martin in Bergues, northern France.     

It appears that George was a carpenter living in Bergues in 1741, but was running some kind of tavern (he was a Cabaretier) in 1743.

It appears that the RICHMOND family might have been Catholic, as there was at least one Catholic priest of this name amongst his indirect ancestors.

My friend is also wondering what might have caused George to emigrate to France.

(I have put a similar post in the Cumberland forum.)

Thank you,

Alan
Sillitoe, Froude, Partington, Rochford

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Maiden Stone

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Georges RICHMOND, born in Ayr on 20 December, 1681.
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 09 May 17 15:52 BST (UK) »
Have you tried Scotland's People? Or Ayrshire Archives?