Author Topic: William Albert Swymer, B. Stepney, 3rd July 1885, Navy Records, D. Dartford 1965  (Read 819 times)

Offline Tisray

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to this site so apologies for errors before I commit them.  ;)

I'm researching my grandfather, William Albert Swymer's navy career, which started July 1904.
I have found his navy record, his number was 229979 and it gives a detailed record of his service. (His dob is incorrect on this it should be 1885 not 1886)
I also have his CR1 Discharge Card which again gives many details.

On his navy record it gives logical dates of training (Northampton/Calliope) ships, shore (Pembroke II) bases & ships (Lancaster, Blenheim) he served on but after 20.5.09 it becomes a little confusing.

His record says "run 20.5.09 Queensferry" whilst serving on the Inflexible in 1909. From my research this means he deserted.
The next entry says "14.9.09 Recovered from desertion but not claimed for further service"
The last entry says "Removal of run approved. rule No L 4757/?
Can anyone throw any light on the removal of run rule stated above? and I presume the "not claimed for further service" means he wasn't forced to return to service?

But he then seems to rejoin on 22 Feb 1915 "for hostilities" and serves on the Sir John Moore from July '15 to Feb '19 at which point he is "demobbed".

So I presume this means he had a 6 year gap in serving.

On his CR1 discharge card it is written Ausonia 145970 13.9.23

The card is date stamped 6 Dec 1923. Does this mean he only served 3 months?
Also it says reason for discharge as - see 2/6 1st Issue.
Anyone know what this means?

At some time in his life he was admitted to a hospital (sanatorium I think) and died there and I wondered if his seaman career had any bearing on this fact.

Online Christine53

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile