Author Topic: R.A.F Speke defences.  (Read 2888 times)

Offline Red Tom

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
R.A.F Speke defences.
« on: Saturday 13 May 17 12:10 BST (UK) »
I am attempting to unearth whatever info I can re the army units stationed in Speke,Liverpool (Lancs) during the war. One relative recalls locals having servicemen billeted in her family home,(and another formed a relationship with one soldier which led to an illegitimate child).Obviously,there must have been defences,but I can only find mention of R.A.F.units. Any hints as to where to begin would be gratefully accepted.
Calland/Campbell/Pilkington/Wignall/Varley/Briscoe

Offline Elwyn Soutter

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: R.A.F Speke defences.
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 13 May 17 12:30 BST (UK) »
I am not an expert on military matters but at one airfield I know of it was the RAF Regiment that was responsible for the defences and security. That was in the 1970s so don't know whether wartime was the same.
Elwyn

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 13 May 17 12:36 BST (UK) »
Like you I have found that any googling of Speke and WW2 only gives information related to the RAF.

Might any army bases that your relatives recall have been elsewhere in the area rather than Speke itself?

Offline Red Tom

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 13 May 17 12:54 BST (UK) »
Like you I have found that any googling of Speke and WW2 only gives information related to the RAF.

Might any army bases that your relatives recall have been elsewhere in the area rather than Speke itself?
No Ruskie, there is no doubt that the family recollections are accurate, at least two different sites in Speke have been mentioned,both near to the Rootes plant,which makes sense.

Offline Red Tom

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile