Author Topic: Merchant Navy - William O'Toole b Middlesbrough 1904. Died Grimsby 1972?  (Read 804 times)

Offline Jomot

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
I have found three Merchant Navy records for William O'Toole born in Middlesbrough on 1 May 1904 (although some records state 1903), but whilst I think they tell me he enlisted in 1919 & was discharged in 1938 in Grimsby, there doesn't seem to be a lot of other detail.

I am completely new to these records so any assistance in understanding what they mean and where I might find any other information would be much appreciated.

There is someone with the same name & DoB in Grimsby in 1939, although the initials VP have also been added later.  This leads me to believe he is the William Vincent Peter O'Toole who died in Grimsby in 1972, although as no-one by that name appears in any other records I'm fairly optimistic that he's my man.
MORGAN: Glamorgan, Durham, Ohio. DAVIS/DAVIES/DAVID: Glamorgan, Ohio.  GIBSON: Leicestershire, Durham, North Yorkshire.  RAIN/RAINE: Cumberland.  TAYLOR: North Yorks. BOURDAS: North Yorks. JEFFREYS: Worcestershire & Northumberland. FORBES: Berwickshire, CHEESMOND: Durham/Northumberland. WINTER: Durham/Northumberland. SNOWBALL: Durham.

Offline Ellenmai

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Merchant Navy - William O'Toole b Middlesbrough 1904. Died Grimsby 1972?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 14 May 17 17:01 BST (UK) »
The William Vincent P O'Toole who died in 1972 Grimsby, his DOB was 1st May 1905, the William O'Toole you have stated in 1939 is in 1904, but with a name such as that I'm sure it's possibly the same person. I don't know if it will help but there is a marriage for William O'Toole 1945 Grimsby to Elizabeth Rolf.

Offline HMac

• RootsChat Veteran
  • www.sscityofcairo.co.uk
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 14 May 17 17:03 BST (UK) »