Author Topic: ancestry dna small % asia south  (Read 4018 times)

Offline myrrhn

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
ancestry dna small % asia south
« on: Wednesday 09 August 17 06:48 BST (UK) »
With my ancestry dna results, I have <1%, with a margin of 0-2% Asia South. I have no knowledge of any ancestors with a connection to the region, but I do have gaps in my tree. Is there any way of knowing how far back this % is from? Could it be indicative of Romani ancestry?

Just trying to figure out if this is ancient ancient, or from someone from a few hundred years ago whose name I could learn.

I have attached screenshots from ancestry dna, dna.land, and myheritage. Any insight would be much appreciated!

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: ancestry dna small % asia south
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 09 August 17 07:19 BST (UK) »
Welcome top rootschat myrrhn.

I think you could probably forget about that minuscule percentage of South Asian.  :) If accurate, there would be no find-able records for them, and their origins are too vague to be of any use genealogically.

I'm sure the experts will be along soon to correct me if I am wrong  ;) and explain this percentage to you properly.

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 09 August 17 11:47 BST (UK) »
DNA testing be it with Ancestry, ftDNA or any of the other testing companies does NOT tell you your ethnic makeup. What these tests do is compare your results with their sample databases. The fact that all these companies have different sample bases means you get different results depending on which company you test with. That should be a huge warning that these tests are not accurate and should only be looked at for their curiosity value.