Author Topic: Are there Records pre 1560 re Robert and Marie callow  (Read 2916 times)

Offline SeekingPeace

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Are there Records pre 1560 re Robert and Marie callow
« on: Tuesday 05 September 17 14:17 BST (UK) »
Hi I am new to family history so forgive my ignorance, I have traced the kerruish callow family line from Australia back to Robaert Callow IN 1545 but cannot find parents for him or his spouse .My question is where would there be record of this if any?
Kind regards

Offline KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Are there Records pre 1560 re Robert and Marie callow
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 05 September 17 14:42 BST (UK) »
Do you know in which parish he was born?

The excellent Manxnotebook website says:
Although by 1538 the Manx Church had come under York, the first parish registers date from 1598 - the earliest being that of Ballaugh followed shortly afterwards by Jurby and Michael.

http://www.isle-of-man.com/manxnotebook/famhist/genealgy/church.htm
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline iluleah

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Zeya who has a plastic bag fetish
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 05 September 17 14:47 BST (UK) »
Hi and welcome to rootschat  ;D

Parish records started in I o M  from 1538 and most in reality didn't begin until 1600s, although many are not available, damaged, lost and they are generally records you need to use for family history research, of course there are other potential records although in the main they do not connect people so it makes it difficult to prove ancestry and FH research is about proving. Only a tiny percentage of real records are online for any country, so that makes it very difficult

http://www.isle-of-man.com/manxnotebook/famhist/genealgy/church.htm