Author Topic: Recognising family, I think the one in the top right hand corner is Henrietta  (Read 741 times)

Offline chrisdyer

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Recognising family, I think the one in the top right hand corner is Henrietta
« on: Wednesday 13 September 17 17:32 BST (UK) »
The photo one is from a book of small photos with no names, I think the one in the top right hand corner is Henrietta.  Do you think the other ones are from her family or do you think any are of her at different ages. Born 1885 in Salford.

Offline McGroger

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Convicts, Commoners and Outlaws
    • View Profile
Re: Recognising family, I think the one in the top right hand corner is Henrietta
« Reply #1 on: Friday 15 September 17 07:54 BST (UK) »
Hello again, Chris. Your request has slipped down the board following a flood of posts, so I’ll have a (rough) go. (I’m no expert.)

Firstly, I think all photos were taken during the same (Edwardian) period.

The last three photos on the top row look as though they were taken same place, same time. I think the only two resembling each other very closely (out of all the pictures on both rows) are the last two on that top row. Probably mother and daughter, I think. In fact (although it’s difficult to say with the damage to the photos) Henrietta may even be wearing her mother’s hat. The next one back left - taken same time, same place - could possibly be an older sister to Henrietta. Although her overall face shape, ears (lobes in particular) and nose all differ from Henrietta and the “mother” there is some similarity with the eyes, eyebrows and mouth.

With all the other people’s photos I don’t think there are enough close similarities  to say whether or not they could be related either to the ones mentioned above or to one another. They may be, but I don’t think there is anything that grabs you and says, “hey, I’m her sister/brother”.