Author Topic: James Hyde c.1874  (Read 1277 times)

Offline Griff55

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
James Hyde c.1874
« on: Wednesday 13 September 17 18:24 BST (UK) »
Hi, I'm very new to family research but think my question is best suited to the immigration area.

In 1903 James Charles Hyde (born approx 1874 according to various census records but frustratingly I have not found the exact birth) married Sarah Jane Birch in Kidderminster. They had a daughter Nellie in 1904. I have found a record of a James, Sarah and Mollie Hyde arriving in New York on 16 Nov 1905. I am reasonably sure this is the right family despite the daughter's name being slightly different. I know that Sarah and Nellie were back in Kidderminster in 1911 and Sarah seemed to be in a new relationship. I would like to find out what happened to James. On the manifest it states they will be staying with a Mrs Selina Hands(?), 291 East Main Street, Amsterdam, New York. James did have a sister called Selina but I have no record of her marriage or travel to America.

I am wondering whether the family split up in America and James remained. Is it possible to find out when Sarah and Nellie returned to England to see if James was with them? Could anyone give me any pointers on tracing James please?

Offline RJ137

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: James Hyde c.1874
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 13 September 17 18:39 BST (UK) »
This appears to be the Selina Hands mentioned.

1905 NY Census: https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:MVB9-VLN

Offline Lisa in California

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 13 September 17 18:43 BST (UK) »
Is this a possibility?
Declaration of Intention, Naturalization Record
James Charles Hyde, occupation Machinist.
Dark complexion, 5' 8", 150 lbs, blkbrown hair, blue eyes