Author Topic: Family History.  (Read 747 times)

Offline john james oliver

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Family History.
« on: Monday 25 September 17 19:17 BST (UK) »
Hello , I am a new member on roots chat, I have been researching my family history for about a year now but practically all that I have done I have needed help from someone else and I am afraid that if I keep asking for help , people are going to be sick of me, I am a novice at my family history, and even worse on computers, anyway before I send you all to sleep with my droning on I would like to know if someone can help me with this problem . I have found my ancestors in South Shields County Durham England back to 1781, what I want to know is how can can I decide which ancestor is in the right place , I have Thomas Oliver born in 1781 but cant find his parents, I thought I had found them in Monk--Wearmouth Sunderland, but since then I have found more Oliver's in South Shields but I don't know if they are the right ones, please can someone help .

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Family History.
« Reply #1 on: Monday 25 September 17 19:31 BST (UK) »
Welcome to the board

There is no such thing as too many questions, we all learn from asking questions.

To answer the question about Thomas there are a few things you can do.

1. If he had children before 1811 then look at the baptisms of his children as the baptisms in that period especially in the North East have some genealogical information about the parents. These are called Dade and Barrington Registers see link

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parish_register

2. Look to see if he left a will as that may provide some information that helps

3. Look at the names of his siblings and his own children and see if they form a pattern

4. Do Newspaper searches (some Libraries have subscriptions to sites that can help with this)