Author Topic: DNA Results Question  (Read 1116 times)

Offline dnaconfused90

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DNA Results Question
« on: Friday 13 October 17 00:53 BST (UK) »
Hello, I just got my DNA results from Ancestry and I have a lot of confusion regarding exactly where I'm from. I was adopted at age 3 so I have no knowledge where my biological parents are from? I was born in the U.S. Based on these results where should I even consider myself to be from I'm I Italian? Greek? Spanish?

These are my results:

Italy/Greece 40%
Iberian Peninsula 28%
Africa North 9%
Ireland 7%
Europe West 7%
Scandinavia 4%
Middle East 1%

Thank you!

Offline Ayashi

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • William Wood, who was your mother??
    • View Profile
Re: DNA Results Question
« Reply #1 on: Friday 13 October 17 02:51 BST (UK) »
I don't know if there is a word to describe that particular area specifically, other than the more general "European"! It may be that there is no one answer to this, your parents and grandparents may have been of mixed nationality parentage themselves.

I don't know how many people from Italy, Greece and Spain/Portugal would be on Ancestry (most of my results are UK and US) but potentially if you end up with a close enough match you might begin to see a trend in a particular country in order to narrow things down a little. Or perhaps someone can suggest another site that people from those countries might test with more commonly than Ancestry?

Good luck!

Online familydar

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 13 October 17 12:23 BST (UK) »