Author Topic: Query - usefulness of uploading trees onto FindMyPast  (Read 762 times)

Offline familydar

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Query - usefulness of uploading trees onto FindMyPast
« on: Friday 13 October 17 12:29 BST (UK) »
Every Friday with great anticipation I go to the FindMyPast Fridays page to see if any of the latest batch of uploads might be of use to me.  I can then spend some considerable time doing lookups of the new datasets for my numerous brick walls.  Very rarely do I get a "hit" that is new to me (often the records are online elsewhere or else I've already bought the appropriate FHS cd)

I have a FindMyPast subscription and recently I've become aware of a notification (top right) which offers to do this time-consuming work for me if I upload my tree.  I'm sure others have done this.  For those of you who have been researching for a number of years and whose brick walls are back in the 1700s, is it proving useful?  Are you getting new "hits" every time a new dataset is loaded and how relevant are they in terms of date and location?

ALLEN
BARR, BARRATT, BERRY, BRADLEY,BRAMLEY,BRISTOW,BROWN,BUGBIRD,BUTLER
CAIN,CARR,CHAPMAN,CHARLES,CH*LTON,CHESTER,COCKETT
COLLASON,COLLYER,CORKERY
DARLING, DENYER,DICKERSON,DOLLING,DURBAN
FARMER,FURNELL
GIBSON,GILES,GROOMBRIDGE
HALL,HAMBIDGE,HARMES,HART,HICKS,HILL,HOLLOWAY
JACKSON
K*AT*S
LANCASTER,LINTON
MCDONALD,MCFADEN,MEARS,MILLARD
NICOLAS,NOAK,NORTH
PARFIT,PORTER
RIPPINGALE,ROBINS
SEARLE,SPENCER,STEDHAM
TYLER,TILLY,TUCKWELL
WADE,WAGER,WALKER,WATSON,WEBB,WITHRINGTON,WOOD

Offline PrawnCocktail

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Query - usefulness of uploading trees onto FindMyPast
« Reply #1 on: Friday 13 October 17 17:07 BST (UK) »
I put mine up there, uploaded quite a big tree, with a lot of Cheshire in it.