Author Topic: Ancestry.com and FindMyPast  (Read 1321 times)

Offline Smudgeboy

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Ancestry.com and FindMyPast
« on: Wednesday 18 October 17 14:25 BST (UK) »
Hello all,

Complete newbie to RootsChat here, so hello everybody! I've been researching my family tree on Ancestry.com for a few years now.

I'm getting to the stage where I've possibly exhausted all the hints and searches on Ancestry (although it's probably fair to argue this may never really be the case!) and am also mindful of the fact that many Ancestry users have recently been complaining that they seem to be finding new ways to get more and more cash out of people (the latest seems to be the trick of posting any NEW military records on a different site - 3Fold - which requires a separate subscription).

Anyway, without harping on (too late!!) my basic question is this - I have never tried FindMyPast, can you good people on here advise whether it is worth it? Would FindMyPast open up information not on Ancestry, or would I be mostly finding the same info?

Thanks
DEMUTH - Saar/Germany/Deptford/Greenwich
DUNNETT - Suffolk/Deptford
HAWKINGS - Islington/Southwark/Deptford
THOMAS - Clerkenwell/Deptford/Birmingham
SMITH (!) - Deptford/Greenwich/Blackheath
JOHNSON - Deptford/Greenwich
CATCHESIDES - Rotherhithe
STRINGLE - Marylebone
MOSS - Beckenham/Bromley/Sydenham
WILTON - Patcham/Brighton
ATTREE - Beckenham/Lambeth/Dorking/Sussex
SINNOCK - Lewes
STANSBY - Maidstone
RUDKIN & HIBBITT - Rutland
PYKE/PIKE - Street & Ditchling (Sussex)
CAREY - Wiltshire

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Ancestry.com and FindMyPast
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 18 October 17 15:01 BST (UK) »