Author Topic: Gedmatch admixture question (be nice)  (Read 1674 times)

Offline SamuelF992

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Gedmatch admixture question (be nice)
« on: Friday 20 October 17 12:25 BST (UK) »
Hi all

I'm very new to Gedmatch, but am beginning to get the hang of it. As far as I am aware, all my ancestry for the past 500 years is British Isles. I've been doing some of the admixture tests, and nearly all the different projects come back with around 3.1% Indian/South Central Asian DNA. The mixed mode population tests normally come back with a significant amount of secondary populations such as Gujarati, Sindh, Cochin Jewish, Kalash and Iraqi Jewish. For those more experienced with Gedmatch, are these results fairly common for anyone with Indo-European ancestry, or am I looking at more specific and recent ancestry? As I say I'm very new to Gedmatch, so apologies if I'm getting the wrong end of the stick.

Best wishes
Samuel
2nd generation - Fawcett, Elsbury, Sanders, Aldridge
3rd - as above, Hutchison, Babb, Enticott, Edwards
4th - as above, Turner, Bater, Marshall, Webb, Chick, Cottey, Tozer, Rowland
5th - as above, Broomfield, Fry, Wood, Clark, Baker, Boyland, Lane, Bryant, Pearce, Carey, Bailey, Freeman, Hill

Offline Sandgrounder1

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: Gedmatch admixture question (be nice)
« Reply #1 on: Friday 20 October 17 19:12 BST (UK) »
Hi Samuel

I don't have much more experience than you with Gedmatch but these tests seem to be aimed at telling you where your ancient ancestor groups originally came from.  I had similar results to you.  I tested with Living DNA and they provided a similar "map" of where they think your motherline originated. You can't specifically relate the results to you as they are too far back in time