Author Topic: First cousin marriage and DNA  (Read 1480 times)

Offline gazania

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
First cousin marriage and DNA
« on: Tuesday 07 November 17 10:43 GMT (UK) »
I am pretty new to understanding my DNA results.  I understand the randomness of inheriting DNA from parents, grandparents etc.  However, according to all documentary proof, my gggrandparents were first cousins.  is it reasonable to expect that a first cousin marriage would affect the degree of inherited DNA?  Has anyone had any experience of interpreting the matches from a first cousin marriage?  Thank you. Gazania
ALDERMAN, Bucks
BELK, Yorkshire, London
CARLING, Bedfordshire
CUNDITH,CUNDILL, Yorkshire, PALIN. Lincolnshire
FOX, Essex; Camberwell Surrey
LANE, Cork IE;Askeaton LIM, Liverpool, Clifton, Bristol
VOLLER, Surrey
WALL Clonlara Co Clare Ireland
WAREHAM, Esher, Surrey; London
WINCH, Surrey

Offline Guy Etchells

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: First cousin marriage and DNA
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 07 November 17 11:31 GMT (UK) »
It might do or it might not.

DNA confuses many people even those who claim understand DNA often fail to take into account DNA does not necessarily contain any traces of a specific ancestor or even a complete lineage.

We inherit all our DNA from our parents but we do not inherit all our individual parents DNA.
This means that siblings, in most cases do not have matching DNA (though the possibility cannot be ruled out).

The further back we go the possibility of inheriting any DNA from a particular line diminishes as more and more lines are added.

You state your gggrandparents were first cousins.