Author Topic: DNA Expert needed please  (Read 1143 times)

Offline Sandgrounder1

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DNA Expert needed please
« on: Thursday 09 November 17 10:37 GMT (UK) »
I have a "match" on Gedmatch Genesis with someone who shares 60 small matches spread fairly evenly across all chromosomes.  Two are in the 6-7 range.  We have a 7cm match on X and many smaller ones. I feel this is too many to be accidental.  We also have shared surnames and locations.  As a beginner I would appreciate some advice as to whether to pursue this or not.
CONWAY, Westport, Mayo; TEALE, Salford, Manchester; GILCHRIST, Edinburgh; GRIFFITHS, East Stonehouse, Devon / Cardiff; VENNEN (and variations) Cornwall; TOY, Cornwall; ENGLAND, Cromer/Northrepps, Norfolk; LOFTUS, Cissie and Marie, Music Hall Artistes, Glasgow; PORTSWORTHY, Cornwall; SARCHFIELD, Manchester/Southport

Offline hurworth

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: DNA Expert needed please
« Reply #1 on: Friday 10 November 17 19:07 GMT (UK) »
How many SNPs are those shared segments?   

Which companies did you and the other tester use?

Offline Sandgrounder1

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 10 November 17 19:28 GMT (UK) »
Info at bottom of results says
Largest segment 6.2
Total 1/2 matches 232.3
593701 snps used
74.9 snps full identical

Results boxes individually added up come to a total of 233.9 cm and we both used Living DNA.
CONWAY, Westport, Mayo; TEALE, Salford, Manchester; GILCHRIST, Edinburgh; GRIFFITHS, East Stonehouse, Devon / Cardiff; VENNEN (and variations) Cornwall; TOY, Cornwall; ENGLAND, Cromer/Northrepps, Norfolk; LOFTUS, Cissie and Marie, Music Hall Artistes, Glasgow; PORTSWORTHY, Cornwall; SARCHFIELD, Manchester/Southport

Offline hurworth

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Friday 10 November 17 20:07 GMT (UK) »
Firstly, I am not an expert.