Author Topic: Registrar  (Read 1097 times)

Offline LEMB

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Registrar
« on: Sunday 26 November 17 20:28 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

can you ever find information on someone from the registrar who signed there death certificate? or could someone explain to me what a registrar was back in 1860's. it all seems abit confusing - sorry!

but to find the family, i'm having no luck on names so i'm hoping the name on the registrar bit could shed some light maybe..

i don't even know if the child at death was at home or in a hospital etc or if the home address was just put down as that is where they lived?

i started researching a few years ago when i turned 20, i'm not very experienced yet!

if anyone can help, thank you

Offline MarMnkly

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Always looking back
    • View Profile
Re: Registrar
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 26 November 17 21:02 GMT (UK) »
Hi Lauren
the registrar would have had the job of recording details of all births, deaths, and marriages. It is unlikely that the registrar was related to the family in the certificate.
It looks like William died at home, as the family are living at Mount Pleasant in 1861
Mar :)
Surname Interests
Massey, Munkley, Powell, Thompson, Thurkettle

Any census information included in this post is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Rosedale

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 26 November 17 21:04 GMT (UK) »
Hi Lauren,