Author Topic: Hayters of Windlesham  (Read 1311 times)

Offline amanta41

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hayters of Windlesham
« on: Thursday 30 November 17 13:19 GMT (UK) »
Hi all
I am pretty new to geneology, and I am looking at both sides of my family tree, Robinsons of Bristol and Hayters. I have traced the Hayters back to the Hayters of Windlesham with Charles Hayter 1728-1807 so far.. I dont live all that far from Windlesham, so will try to find the graves of my ancesters buried at St. John the baptist's soon.
Does anyone have any of their own research on the Hayters that they would be willing to share, or have any other tips for me to develop my research?

Thanks

Offline Lostris

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • diebus numerati sunt
    • View Profile
Re: Hayters of Windlesham
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 30 November 17 14:21 GMT (UK) »
The Windlesham Parish Registers - "The first book of the registers contains baptisms from 1677 to 1689; a second, all entries from 1695 to 1747; a third, baptisms and burials from 1749 to 1783, and marriages from 1749 to 1753; a fourth, baptisms from 1783 to 1810; a fifth, burials from 1793, and baptisms from 1810 to 1812. There are also two printed marriages and banns books from 1754 to 1802, and from 1802 to 1812.

When the old church of Windlesham was struck by lightning and burnt in 1676, the registers were burnt, and now date only from that time..... "

If you can find a copy of "
A History of Bagshot and Windlesham Hardcover – 1 Jan 1977
by M.De G. Eedle "

you may get further insights into your Ancestors ....

- try Amazon ...

Offline ciderdrinker

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 01 December 17 15:29 GMT (UK) »
Hi
Not my family but his Will of 1807 is a PCC Will on Ancestry or pay to view at the National archives.
He is of Bagshot,a gentlemen.
Sons Charles,John and Samuel,personal pocessions equally.