Author Topic: Best way to sort paper documents-oldest or newest events on top?  (Read 920 times)

Offline Lisa in California

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Best way to sort paper documents-oldest or newest events on top?
« on: Saturday 16 December 17 22:20 GMT (UK) »
I have been researching for many years; I have a huge collection of papers in family binders (each "main" branch has its own binder) and (somewhat recently printed) papers that have not yet made it into the binders.  I will photograph/scan them as soon as I can sort everything as I know it is better to save things digitally.

Some binders have papers sorted with older events on top, and some binders have papers with the most recent events on top.  I know that I have multiple copies of some documents/correspondence.  My goal is to reduce the amount of documents by removing multiple copies, which would also make it easier to digitise.

I can't make up my mind which method is better (and I'm getting frustrated with my indecision):  when a binder is opened, be able to read the oldest document (and get a feeling of when and where the family lived long ago), or read the newest documents (which could reference known relatives)?  Suggestions of what has worked best (providing people still have paper records)  ;) is very much appreciated.  Thank you, Lisa

PS  I may have asked this question a couple of/few years ago, but I cannot find the topic and I am now serious about getting this project done as genealogy has taken over our dining room.