Author Topic: Surprise 1911 Census Sibling  (Read 1182 times)

Offline Treecy75

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Surprise 1911 Census Sibling
« on: Monday 22 January 18 17:14 GMT (UK) »
Hello,

I'm new to the genealogy thing but am having a good stab at researching our family tree.  I'm interested myself but also for my Mum who is now in her 70s and an only child.  We all believed she was the daughter of an only child - my Grandad John Johnson b. 1907.  I have found my Grandad's census entry from 1911 when he was 4 and living in York with his parents.  We were really surprised to find he had an older sister Mary born in 1901 (in Limerick, parents met and married in Ireland when Great Grandfather was over with the army).  No one had ever mentioned her, my Mum is baffled but excited that she might find some relations on her Dad's side because she currently has none.  The problem is after 1911 census I can't find Mary Johnson anywhere.  I looked for a marriage/death.  I checked emigration and ships lists (although that is something I don't know much about so can't be certain I did a great job).

31 Spencer Street York

Household Members
William Johnson (also Francis William Johnson on Irish Marriage Certificate)
33 (head)
Kathleen Johnson (nee. SHANNON)
34 (wife)
Mary Johnson (Irish birth register has Mary Frances Johnson)
10 (daughter)
John Johnson
4 (son)

If this link works it opens Mary's Irish birth registry born 11 Aug 1901;

https://civilrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/images/birth_returns/births_1901/01937/1749667.pdf

I wonder if anyone might be able to give me pointers or have a quick look to see if I've missed her somewhere?  I'd be really grateful.

Thanks in advance

Caroline

Offline rosie99

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • ALFIE 2009 - 2021 (Rosbercon Sky's the Limit)
    • View Profile
Re: Surprise 1911 Census Sibling
« Reply #1 on: Monday 22 January 18 17:20 GMT (UK) »