Author Topic: Centimorgans and Segments  (Read 728 times)

Offline Jill Eaton

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Centimorgans and Segments
« on: Wednesday 24 January 18 13:05 GMT (UK) »
Would any experienced DNA experts/Semi-experts/or people with more knowledge than me (I'm a novice) be able to give me a realistic estimate of how many centimorgans and/or segments would count as genuine match worth chasing?

I'm sceptical that the Ancestry relationship estimate is accurate. Sometimes it seems a little over-enthusiastic.
Davis - Berkshire & London
Sutcliffe - Yorkshire & London
Harrington - Ireland and London
Fuller - Cambridgeshire and Essex
Waldron/Waldren - Devon & London
Frisby and Lee - Leicestershire
Hollingsworth - Essex
Williams - Ireland? and London
Ellis, Reed & Temple - London
Lane - ?
Surplice - Cambridgeshire
Elwood - Cambridgeshire

RootsChat is the busiest, largest free family history forum site in the country. It is completely free to use. Register now.
Also register instantly with Facebook or Twitter (and other social networks). Start your genealogy search now.

Offline rsel

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Centimorgans and Segments
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 24 January 18 16:54 GMT (UK) »
Would any experienced DNA experts/Semi-experts/or people with more knowledge than me (I'm a novice) be able to give me a realistic estimate of how many centimorgans and/or segments would count as genuine match worth chasing?

I'm sceptical that the Ancestry relationship estimate is accurate. Sometimes it seems a little over-enthusiastic.
I am no expert, but GedMatch talks about 7cm or larger as the basic for a good match

Richard
Sellens - Sussex
Newham - Surrey
Wellington - Dagenham, Essex
Camp - South Essex
Wren - Essex
Livermore - Essex
Wane - Essex
Fisk - Essex / Suffolk
Bailey/Bayley - Sussex