Author Topic: Y-DNA Test  (Read 2620 times)

Offline tdgower2

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Y-DNA Test
« on: Saturday 17 February 18 21:30 GMT (UK) »
Hi roots chatters, I'm just here to work out how these DNA Tests work and what results I can get from them.
I would like to take a Y-DNA test as my great-great grandfather was illegitimate. I was hoping that this test would help me find out who his dad was. Is that possible?
Sorry if I sound a bit thick but i'm new to this side of genealogy.

Cheers, Tom
Gower, Barker, Mayhew, Blomfield - (Norfolk/Suffolk)
Cook, Carter, Smith, Musk, Moss, Staples, Sparkes, Lister, Woollard, Scrivener, Marsh, Arnold, Hazelwood- (Cambs/Suffolk)
Grimwood, Shinn, Fitches, Sustins, Harvey, Sangster, Capps, Blake, Kimmance, Rans, Watts, George, Denny- (Suffolk)
Fishburne, Bartram, Rix, Balls, Porter, Leach- (Norfolk) Slater, Forster (Co. Durham/Nbland)
Taylor, Element, Barnett- (Worcs) Colley, Dobson, Thornton, Priestman, Harper, Spence, Plewes, Mowthorpe (Yorks)

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Y-DNA Test
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 18 February 18 10:25 GMT (UK) »
In theory its possible but it would be a bit like looking for a needle in a haystack and most importantly someone in a male line descent from your great great grandfathers father would also have to take the test and be a spot on match. Even if all that happened you would then need to construct a good paper trail on both lines to back up the findings of the test results. As a word of caution I took a yDNA test about 5 years ago as hopefully a way of helping with my paternal line that peters out around 1750 in rural Northumberland, to date its not yielded any helpful results.