Author Topic: Weddings performed on WWII Naval base records  (Read 1074 times)

Offline JennW64

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Weddings performed on WWII Naval base records
« on: Thursday 22 February 18 23:24 GMT (UK) »
Hello All,

I am fairly new to RootsChat, so I apologize if this has been asked and answered before, but so far, I haven't been able to find this info anywhere. Maybe a "veteran" RootsWeber can help. :)

My parents were married Nov. 20, 1945 at Treasure Island Naval Base, San Francisco, California. Chaplain Robbins, a Lieutenant in the USNR performed the ceremony at the chapel on Treasure Island. My grandparents flew out for the ceremony from Ohio so they would be witnesses. The best man was Fireman First Class C.D. White who served with my dad. I have a lot of details from the announcement,  but with all that I'm not able to turn up a marriage license, or any record of the ceremony in the State records. 

Would this be a Naval record? If so, where do I search for marriages in Naval records?

Many thanks!
Jenn
Bostock, Bostwick, Bruce, Burlingame, Cochran, Delano, Forbush, Gould, Harris, Hatch, Hine, Hitchcock, Jones, Lane, Lippitt, McNutt, Moore, Nobel, Nutt, Price, Prudden, Rice, Ruggles, Walker, Warren, Watkins and others

Offline MaxD

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Weddings performed on WWII Naval base records
« Reply #1 on: Friday 23 February 18 16:15 GMT (UK) »
Suggest pose the question through the National Archives in this area of the web site??

https://www.archives.gov/veterans

MaxD
I am Zoe Northeast, granddaughter of Maximilian Double.

It is with great difficulty I share with you that in the early hours of 07 August 2021, Maximilian passed away unexpectedly but peacefully.

With deep sadness,
Zoe

Double  Essex/Suffolk
Randle/Millington Warwicks
Sokser/Klingler Austria/Croatia

Offline JennW64

• RootsChat Extra