Author Topic: Advice for condundrum at Polstead!  (Read 1237 times)

Offline jannergray

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Advice for condundrum at Polstead!
« on: Wednesday 28 February 18 20:38 GMT (UK) »
Hello everyone

I'm new to researching ancestors in Suffolk so am looking for some advice!

I've got a conundrum with my ancestors at Polstead.

My 4th Great Grandmother, Hannah MONTAGUE married John GARD(I)NER at Polstead in 1815. Hannah was born at Polstead and baptised there in 1791. From online transcriptions I note that her baptism record appears to suggest she is the daughter of Richard MOY and Mary MONTAGUE.

The confusion is that Mary MONTAGUE was nee GREENWOOD (born at Polstead in 1752). She married James MONTAGUE at Polstead in 1777. I'm guessing James died at some stage prior to 1791 when my Hannah was born which could explain why her father is recorded as Richard MOY??? or was she born illegitimate? or had James MONTAGUE done a runner? and if so, to where???!

Does anyone have any thoughts?

I wonder if anyone can tell me if James MONTAGUE died around the 1777-1791 period; or indeed who was Richard MOY (sometimes spelt MOYS or MOYSE)???

It's all very confusing and I'd certainly appreciate any thoughts. I'd really like to try as best I can to establish Hannah's parentage.

Thanks

Graham

Offline Annette7

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Advice for condundrum at Polstead!
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 01 March 18 01:25 GMT (UK) »
No death in Polstead for James Montague - just one possibility for Richard:

Richard Moyse bc.1737, bur.10/3/1833 Polstead (96yrs)

A James Montague bc.1753, bur.30/12/1787 Stoke by Nayland - a James Montague bp'd there too on 7/1/1753, son of James and Margaret. 

Stoke by Nayland and Polstead just 4 miles apart.