Author Topic: Unusual first names in Cornwall  (Read 3502 times)

Offline dtcoulson

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Unusual first names in Cornwall
« on: Saturday 03 March 18 11:41 GMT (UK) »
Hello people,

Having spent countless hours examining my ancestry in the north of England I have observed that about twenty first-names account for most of the people in the nineteenth century: Elizabeth, Isabella, James, Thomas, Joseph etc. You can probably guess the names I mean.

But now I am studying a line of ancestors in Cornwall and I am coming up against names that I have not seen before (in the early 1800s that is): Nicholas, Joanne, Susanna, Simon, Matilda....
Am I seeing evidence of some minor religion at play, or perhaps some migration from the Continent, or something else? Or are these names more widespread across England than I have observed?

Keen to hear you opinions.

-David C

Offline KGarrad

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Unusual first names in Cornwall
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 03 March 18 12:17 GMT (UK) »
A survey of the Chin/Ching family of North Cornwall, from the Protestation Rolls (1641) shows:
Richard, Roger, Nicholas, Francis, Emanuell, William, Cheren, Theophilus, Phillip, Thomas, Samuel, Anthonie and Abraham.

Cornish forenames include: Demelza, Lamorna, Loveday, Lowella, Morwenna, Tamzin, Tegen, Kenwyn, Conan, Denzel, Jago, Jowan, Kevern, Kitto, Pesco, Perran, Tremayne, Trystan and Veryan.

Cornwall is very different to the rest of England! ;D

Indeed, I once overheard a conversation in a pub:
"Where you going Saturday?"
"Going to England, shopping." - He was going to Plymouth! ;D ;D
Garrad (Suffolk, Essex, Somerset), Crocker (Somerset), Vanstone (Devon, Jersey), Sims (Wiltshire), Bridger (Kent)

Offline dtcoulson

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 03 March 18 18:44 GMT (UK) »