Author Topic: Ashley Family in Australia  (Read 369 times)

Offline Yvonne Ann

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Ashley Family in Australia
« on: Wednesday 14 March 18 00:51 GMT (UK) »
Hi to all you budding genealogists out there.  I am new to this web site & like you, searching for family members.
I am searching on my maternal side of the family & have had a lot of success so far!
I am currently searching for a relative, born around 1941? in Sydney Australia. His father was John Lewis Ashley, born 1915 in Sydney.  His mother was Betty Bridges & as far as I can tell she was also born in Australia.  John & Betty married in 1941.  I also believe John & Betty could have separated?
I have not been able to find a birth, death or marriage for this person.  I live in New Zealand & although some records are a available on line, not everything is accessible for me in NZ.
A brief history for you which may help!!!........my maternal grandfather's mother Annie Harris nee Hendy, left my grandfather when he was very young, taking with her my grandfather's sister Sadie Eileen Harris, born 1909 in Christchurch, New Zealand.  My grandfather who passed quite a few years ago, never saw either of them again!  Although I can't find a marriage for Annie, I have found her living in Rose Bay, Sydney and with a gentleman names Percival Lewis Ashley.  Percival & Annie had a child (John Lewis Ashley) in 1915.  John's birth was registered 3 times!  John Lewis Ashley, John Lewis Harris, John Lewis Hendy!!!! I found John's marriage to Betty in 1941.  In the death notice for Percival Lewis Ashley it mentions a grandson of Percival.  Hence the reason I am trying to find him.  There is every possibility he could still be alive, but in his 70's. 
Any help would be very much appreciated.  Should also mention I found Sadie aka Eileen, she married twice, but no mention of children in her death notice.
Kind regards