Author Topic: Help identifying Badges on US Army Uniform  (Read 557 times)

Offline kentishkiwi

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help identifying Badges on US Army Uniform
« on: Saturday 17 March 18 18:14 GMT (UK) »
Hi
Hope someone can help with this query. I have attached a photo of my relative who was in the
7th US Infantry Regiment between 1927 - 1936. Prior to that he was a casual with US army in the 4th Air Obs squadron in Hawaii from 1924-1927. He also served in WW1 with the Canadian Army from 1915 - 1919 in the 54th Battalion and the Canadian Army Medical Corp so I am not sure what the badges and ribbons refer to. I am particularly interested in the badge below the ribbons that appear to have a couple of clasps. Please excuse the terminology if it is incorrect. I am afraid I am a bit of a novice with ribbons and badges so any help would be good.
Hope this information will help.
Many thanks in advance.
KK

Offline Rockford

• RootsChat Senior
  • The Ancestral Home!
    • View Profile
Re: Help identifying Badges on US Army Uniform
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 18 March 18 11:53 GMT (UK) »
Hi KK

The medal ribbons are perhaps likely to be WW1 related given the timeframe of his service.  Some with more knowledge than me may be able to assist.

However the badge with the hanging 'clasps' looks like an expert marksmanship qualification badge and the 'clasps' would have been the weapons he was expert in using.  See photos here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Badges_of_the_United_States_Army#/media/File:Armyqual.jpg

Best wishes

Rockford
BURNSIDE [Londonderry, Lothians and Pennsylvania]
THORBURN [Lanarkshire], VAIR [Melrose]
SWEENEY [Donegal/Lanarkshire]
GILCHRIST [Lanarkshire, Peebles, Lothians], SMITH [Dunbartonshire, Lanarkshire, Lothians]
GREGORY [Bucks, Wales], BENNETT [Somerset, Wales]
LETHERBY/HOWLETT/PHIPPS [Somerset]