Author Topic: Family Research is an expensive business  (Read 1749 times)

Offline OUI

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Family Research is an expensive business
« on: Thursday 05 April 18 09:39 BST (UK) »
I'm quite new to the family tree research but is anyone else finding that getting to look at birth certificates, death and marriage certificates on GRONI becomes quite expensive after a while?

Offline Romilly

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Family Research is an expensive business
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 05 April 18 09:41 BST (UK) »
I'm quite new to the family tree research but is anyone else finding that getting to look at birth certificates, death and marriage certificates on GRONI becomes quite expensive after a while?

Yes, definately!

If only England and Wales had the same system as Scotland...

Romilly ::)
Any census information included in this post is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Researching:
Wilson, Warren, Dulston, Hooper, Duffin, Petty, Rees, Davies, Williams, Newman, Dyer, Hamilton, Edmeads, Pattenden.

Offline ggrocott

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • I will find them eventually!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 05 April 18 10:01 BST (UK) »
There are some free resources out there, but it depends where your family are from.  If you are lucky enough to have family in Staffordshire or around Bath you can do quite a bit without buying
certificates.  Look at the resources area on the various are forums

There are also various other free sites, although I feel less than there used to be.  Try a google search for the name and area you are looking for.  Go to Genuki.