Author Topic: Relative with Common Name, Multiple Matches.  (Read 1465 times)

Offline Ausigeni

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Relative with Common Name, Multiple Matches.
« on: Wednesday 11 April 18 01:58 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone,

I'm new to Roots Chat. I have an extensive family tree on the go but I am hitting a brick wall with my Paternal Grandmother's family line.

The irony is that I met my Grandmother when I was a child, (I did not have that opportunity with any of my other Grandparents), I know her maiden name and where she lived and who she was married to but she shares a common first name with many others born around the same time and a last name that is so common that it's hard to tell which family line is hers.

The family on that side is now deceased and there was only one other family tree that listed her on Ancestry but they too have admittedly hit a brick wall.

I have found a marriage record for her, but I cannot decide between five different children with the same name and relative birth dates for a birth certificate. My grandfather, her husband, is listed in multiple family trees but as my grandmother was his second wife, most only list the first family details.

To further confound things, I did decide to sketch in a potential matching family for her but then took a DNA test which suggests that there are/or were eastern Europeans briefly in my line. There are no other opportunities in my tree for that to occur unless it happened in my missing line.

Any helpful tips and advice most welcome.

Thanks,

Paula

Offline chempat

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Relative with Common Name, Multiple Matches.
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 11 April 18 06:55 BST (UK) »
Welcome to rootschat, Paula.

Could you give us some names, places and dates so that we could track what the possibilities are, to suggest ways to eliminate some of the candidates?