Author Topic: Another Manson!!  (Read 5646 times)

Offline themonkeymonkey

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Another Manson!!
« on: Saturday 28 April 18 16:21 BST (UK) »
Anney Manson born 1799 in Watten, Caithness, parents David Manson and Janet Munro.  I can find nothing about her nor her father David.  I don't even know if she survived infancy can anyone help please?  Thanks.
David Manson was a soldier in the Caithness military according to Anney Manson baptism, witnesses were John Manson, Spittle Parish of Hallkirk and Peter Finlayson of Toftingal.
Manson, Wilson, Copland, Craighead, Youngson, Ross, Thomson, Smith, Horn

Offline Colubus

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Another Manson!!
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 17 November 21 01:12 GMT (UK) »
Apologies for late response, but I'm new to Rootschat. No direct help, but I have a possible connection to Jane Manson who married William Cogle in Bower (near Watten) in 1776. Their daughter Ann married James Cardo, a soldier from the Rothesay and Caithness Fencibles in 1799. I found a copy of his military record a few years ago from the archives of the Chelsea pensioners. I believe they are now at the national archives at Kew.
Also, according to Caithness.org, the Cogle(Coghill) estate 'included the present day lands of Cogle, Gersa and Scottack (Scottag). Old records sometimes refer to the estate as "Coglefute". About 1700 the last Coghill sold the lands to Manson of Bridgend, Watten.'

Offline themonkeymonkey

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 17 November 21 11:26 GMT (UK) »
Hi Colubus, do you know who the parents of Jane Manson are as I do not seem to have her in my tree (as yet), thanks :).

Offline Colubus

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 17 November 21 17:54 GMT (UK) »