Author Topic: Winterton hospital  (Read 3818 times)

Offline birdlucas

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Winterton hospital
« on: Wednesday 23 May 18 12:41 BST (UK) »
Hi. It's my first time on here so I'm hoping someone might be able to help. I have been researching my Husbands birth family and have found that his birth Mother was in Winterton hospital asylum from at least 1939 until she died in 1992. The hospital has no records of why she was there and I can only assume after researching her other family members that they disowned her and sent her there after the baby was born. I read on some old posts on here that in 1962 these elderly patients were eventually housed in their only little village where they could live peacefully until their death and then, like this lady had a paupers funeral and was buried with someone else in a grave in Butterwick cemetery. It's a very sad story of this lady and the judgments made 80 years ago but I would dearly love to know more about the life of these residents from anyone who worked there and of course if someone actually knew Agnes Far(r)ish personally. I have the name of the lady who signed the death certificate who must have been a staff member but obviously that was 25 years ago so that would be difficult depending on her age. I hope someone may be able to help as I would really like to know more about this lady who is obviously a blood Grandmother to my children.  Than you for reading.
Angela

Offline stanmapstone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Winterton hospital
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 23 May 18 12:46 BST (UK) »
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Online arthurk

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 23 May 18 13:51 BST (UK) »