Author Topic: Pre census record ancestors  (Read 2637 times)

Offline agray1949

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Pre census record ancestors
« on: Friday 01 June 18 16:15 BST (UK) »
Hi
I am fairly new at Family history research & have so far been lucky enough to do all my research from my computer tracing my ancestors back to the early 1800's where they have been seen in the census records & birth/death certificates.
How can I be sure that the person I see in the Old Parish Registers is the correct one if I cannot see any other records.
A case in mind is William Geddes who was born abt. 1782 in Rathven, Banffshire.
His parents are John Geddes & Ann Chapman according to S/P.
He appears in the 1841 & 1851 Census which says where he was born & the family members tie up.
He died (according to some family trees) in 1854 but I can see no trace on S/P
The thing is, how can I be sure this is the correct birth & death.

Offline Chilternbirder

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Re: Pre census record ancestors
« Reply #1 on: Friday 01 June 18 16:41 BST (UK) »
As you go back the risk of errors increases. My main family line stops at a brick wall because there are several babies born with the same christian and surnames in a period of about 3 years.

The Scottish method of keeping the wife / mother's maiden name on records makes life a lot easier and I would put a reasonable probability on that being a match from your description.

I would never trust any information purely on the basis of other trees without confirmation. I have seen too many silly mistakes including my grandmother's supposed postwar second marriage and family (I think that I might have noticed).

Sometimes in Ancestry I will put in a potential parent and see if any searches or hints come up to prove it. If not it goes out again.
Crabb from Laurencekirk / Fordoun and Scurry from mid Essex

Offline Wendy2305

• RootsChat Veteran