Author Topic: Trying to clarify Sneddon/Archibald ancestors  (Read 1747 times)

Offline angela224

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Trying to clarify Sneddon/Archibald ancestors
« on: Friday 08 June 18 15:59 BST (UK) »
Hello,

This is my first post so please bear with me as this might be long and confusing. :) I’m learning fast, but I’m still new to researching Scottish genealogy, so I’d love insight into this problem I’m having. I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post any of the records from ScotlandsPeople, but I can if it's allowed/helpful.

My 3x great grandfather John Sneddon died in 1857 (age 34) and his death record says his parents were John Sneddon (deceased) and Margaret Archibald. The 1851 census says he was born in Alloa around 1823 and living in Carnock. I found a birth/baptism March 2, 1822 in Clackmannan for a John Snadon born to John Snadon (in Kennet) and Marjary Archibald, which could be him. I also found a birth/baptism for a Walter Snadon on January 9, 1820 in Clackmannan born to John Snadon (in Sauchie) and Mary Archibald. Walter's death record in 1885 gives his parents as John and Marion. I also found a marriage of John Snadan and Mary Archibald in Alloa in 1817.

So you can see I've got the names Margaret, Marjary, Mary, and Marion. Because of the name discrepancies, I wasn't sure if John and Walter were brothers, but I found an 1841 census in Dollar with a Walter and John Snadden (both age 20) living with James and Mary Paterson and their 6 children. Their eldest daughter is 15 (so anywhere from 15-19, making her younger than John). Mary was born around 1799.

I found James and Mary in 1851 in Carnock with most of the same children, and I found James Paterson and "Margory" Archibald in the 1861 census at the same address in Carnock.