Author Topic: Hello & Researching someone from just a service number and regiment  (Read 671 times)

Offline T1nker

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Hello & Researching someone from just a service number and regiment
« on: Saturday 09 June 18 20:04 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone,

This is my first time on Roots Chat, so hello to you all.

I have looked for similar posts but cannot find anything like my enquiry.  I didn't however get my specs from SpecSavers, so my apologies if I'm just hopeless at searching.

I have a spoon with KOYLI and the service number 4689610 stamped on it.

I have put out a number of feelers but not had a response yet, so I'm still looking for a way to identify the user of the spoon.

One site gives service numbers in series and the dates of enlistment but this number isn't listed. 
Another site states the Series starts at 4680001 - 4736000.

If anyone can shed light on how I can proceed I will be extremely grateful.

P.S. the spoon doesn't have a MOD arrow on it. the manufacturer was Maleham & Yeomans.

Many thanks, T1nker

Offline davidft

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Hello & Researching someone from just a service number and regiment
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 09 June 18 20:42 BST (UK) »
Koyli could be King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King%27s_Own_Yorkshire_Light_Infantry

What makes you think it is a service number, and what makes you think it relates to any particular period.

If you look at the link I have above you will see it mentions they have a museum you could try contacting them to see if they can help or advise who might be able to

Good luck