Author Topic: Soldier 1872  (Read 1535 times)

Offline RebeccaNZ

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Soldier 1872
« on: Saturday 16 June 18 05:12 BST (UK) »
This is going quite a long way back in time, but I'm trying to trace someone who was a soldier in 1872. Is it possible to trace someone when the only info you have about them is their name, profession and a few clues about location??

I'm searching for Charles Butt who was a soldier on his daughters 1872 birth certificate but that's the only info that I have about him. His daughter was born in Suffolk but in the 1871 census her mother was living in Essex so he could have been living either place.

Is there any census database which allows you to search by profession??

Offline Kay99

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Soldier 1872
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 16 June 18 06:09 BST (UK) »
Find My Past is searchable by profession.    However using Family Search I wonder if this could be him  in 1871

Chas Butt   23  London, Middlesex   Living at Chelsea Barracks for Second Battalion Scots Fusilier Guards  Chelsea -  Soldier - Private

Kay

Offline RebeccaNZ

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 16 June 18 06:16 BST (UK) »
Find My Past is searchable by profession.    However using Family Search I wonder if this could be him  in 1871

Chas Butt   23  London, Middlesex   Living at Chelsea Barracks for Second Battalion Scots Fusilier Guards  Chelsea -  Soldier - Private
I
Kay

Hi! I was having a play around on ancestry and after a few attempts I found this too. I think that its him. There is also another Charles Butt as a soldier in 1881 but they look to be different people

Offline Kay99

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 16 June 18 06:24 BST (UK) »