Author Topic: Brickwall inflation  (Read 1808 times)

Offline Melbell

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Brickwall inflation
« on: Thursday 21 June 18 09:59 BST (UK) »
Brickwall or brickwall?

It seems to me that this shorthand for a very difficult FH research problem has recently become trendy and much over-used.

I have been researching for nearly 40 years (multiple lines) yet I would claim to have only, perhaps, half a dozen brickwalls.

I have seen queries from people (not on RC necessarily) wailing about a brickwall because, for example, they can't find a birth certificate for an ancestor born in 1790!!! 

Perhaps there should be another term for this sort of thing - 'a low fence' or some such??

Melbell  ::)

Offline ggrocott

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • I will find them eventually!
    • View Profile
Re: Brickwall inflation
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 21 June 18 10:02 BST (UK) »
I think I definitely have a brick wall, Margaret Church, so named because she was found as a baby by the vicar of St Margaret's Church and named accordingly!  Not much chance of finding her parents.  :-(

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Tagg, Bowyer (Berkshire/Surrey), Adams, Small, Pratt, Coles, Stevens, Cox (Bucks), Grocott, Slater, Dean, Hill (Staffs/Shropshire), Holloway, Flint, Warrington,Turnbull (London), Montague, Barrett (Herts), Hayward (Kent), Gallon, Knight, Ede, Tribe, Bunn, Northeast, Nicholds (Sussex) Penduck, Pinnell, Yeeles (Gloucs), Johns (Monmouth and Devon), Head (Bath), Tedbury, Bowyer (Somerset), Chapman, Barrett (Herts/Essex)

Offline iluleah

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Zeya who has a plastic bag fetish
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 21 June 18 10:41 BST (UK) »