Author Topic: UK Ancestry Subscriber but want to purchase a DNA kit for Family in Australia  (Read 2543 times)

Offline KitCarson

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Hi,  I have had a quick look at the DNA thread, but can't see a similar question.  Apologies if this has already been covered.

I have purchased 4 kits for use with family in the UK.  We have a 98 year old family member in Western Australia and they are keen to do a DNA test.  Great!! or so I thought.  It appears that I can't purchase one and have it shipped to them in WA.  The nice person at Ancestry explained that I would have to wire the money and they would need to purchase the kit from Australia.  Why???  They are not Ancestry members and at 98, I'm not going to ask them to sign up either.  Goodness only knows what would happen and what they might get tied into.

What a palaver, yet Ancestry have an Australian site and I have a Worldwide subscription.

Anyone had this situation and been able to get round it?  I wouldn't be surprised if the only way was to mail them the kit (lord only knows how much that would be) and for them to mail it back to me (again at their cost) and for me then to send it onto Dublin.  >:(

Kit

Rimmer/Appleton/Ashcroft: St Helens, Lancs // Cul(le)y:St Helens & Little Bolton // Stott: Huyton Quarry & Sutton, Lancs
Carson:Belfast? & St Helens // Kelly:Mullingar, West Meath? & St Helens // Ronan: Ferns, Wexford & St Helens // Daley:Oranmore & Athenry, Co Galway //
Cunningham: Heworth, Gateshead & Widnes & St Helens, originating Ireland
Edgar: Bellie, Moray // Anderson: Selkirk // Rutherford: Hobkirk, Roxburghshire //
Stewart: Angus // Watson: Moray & Jamaica // Watt: Cairnie

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: UK Ancestry Subscriber but want to purchase a DNA kit for Family in Australia
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 23 June 18 14:11 BST (UK) »