Author Topic: using dna to try and find unknown grandfather  (Read 6668 times)

Offline Hmootm

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
using dna to try and find unknown grandfather
« on: Saturday 30 June 18 13:15 BST (UK) »
I am very new to dna, i've only had my results for a month and am still feeling pretty overwhelmed by it all.  I was hoping that I would get some matches that would help me try and break down a few of my brick walls on my paternal side but nearly all my matches are from my mothers side  :(

I know the ethnicity part of the test is mostly just a bit of fun but my result said i was 17% europe south which makes a lot of sense to me, my nan always said my dads father was a greek sailor  :) I have a lot of matches which have greek sounding names but unfortunately, the closest matches are only 4th cousins.  A few do have trees, some of them quite large but I'm thinking it would be impossible to try and work it out , is that the case?
Gedmatch kit number: A783595
Linkston, linkstone, Linkson (Scotland)
Hutchison (Scotland)
Hay (Scotland)
Mekzsraites (Russia/ Lithuania, changed to Marshall when immigrants to Scotland)
Stevenson (Ireland / Scotland)
Fadian, English, Vesey, Gielty, Gallagher, Masterson (Achill, Co Mayo.)

Offline Nanna52

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Edwin WB Vincent, my actor, (1881-1940)
    • View Profile
Re: using dna to try and find unknown grandfather
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 30 June 18 13:43 BST (UK) »
You could be lucky.  You could find the family line.  After that there is a lot of trial and error.  I have found the family line and was lucky that quite a few people had tested in that line.  I am narrowing it down, but I have made contact with many of the matches on that line and have been fortunate enough to get replies from a few to help my search.
James -Victoria, Australia originally from Keynsham, Somerset.
Janes - Keynsham and Bristol area.