Author Topic: DNA 2nd Cousin  (Read 1328 times)

Offline kathleenmitchell

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DNA 2nd Cousin
« on: Tuesday 31 July 18 14:45 BST (UK) »
Hi
I am new to Ancestry DNA, it says I have a second cousin, I have been in touch with him and he assures me that we have no joint ancestor?  I am well confused, it says 235 centi, 13 Dna segments what ever that means, could someone please point me in the right direction.
Thanks
Kathy
GREENOCK.  Mitchell, Foley, Ferguson, Sweeney, Beckett, Sheekey, Branchfield, McDermid, Crighton, Canavan
LIVERPOOL. Otty, Holmes, Crighton
CO TYRONE, FERMANAGH, ANTRIM, DERRY.   Mitchell, Elliott,Dowds, Mcguire, McFall
COUNTY CARLOW. Foley, Doyle
DENMARK. Holm
WIGTOWNSHIRE.  Ferguson, Milroy, Dickson, Gunlock, Aitcheson/Hutcheson

Offline Regorian

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Henry Griffiths Jnr c1914, HMS Achilles
    • View Profile
Re: DNA 2nd Cousin
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 31 July 18 14:57 BST (UK) »
I would assume that was grandfather or grandmother level. No need for DNA tests.
Griffiths Llandogo, Mitcheltroy, Mon. and Whitchurch Here (Also Edwards),  18th C., Griffiths FoD 19th Century.

Offline Cwellan CoDown

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 31 July 18 14:59 BST (UK) »
Do you have any shared matches that could shed some light on what line of the family he comes from?

Although no joint ancestors are showing on the trees - there is the possibility that there is a non parental event somewhere in 1 of your trees (Someone's father is not who the documents say!)

Ancestry shows me as having a 2nd cousin - they are actually my 1st cousin twice removed

The chances of sharing that amount of data and not be related must be extremely slim - if even possible?
McClean, Kelly, Murray, Higgins, McAnulty (McNulty, Conalty, Kinolty), Morgan, Rafferty, McPolin (All Co Down, Ireland) Bowman, Hooper(Yorkshire)

Offline Gadget