Author Topic: Family of Thomas King and Ursula (Oslea) Stewart (Stuart) - Paisley m 1760/61  (Read 953 times)

Offline Chris_t

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
I am after any information regarding the descendants of the above couple who had several children in Paisley and Neilston between 1760 and 1780 as there is a possibility that their son David born 1772 is my ancestor. I am looking for any information that would help me confirm this.

I know this is rather vague but I don't have a lot of information to go on. All I know is that David King was a weaver by trade and served in the Royal Artillery. In 1798 he married in Cornwall and a son Thomas was born the following year in Plymouth. There is no service record for him at the National Archives and I can't find a record of him or his wife past the birth of his son.

Any information or ideas would be appreciated.

Offline ColC

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Family of Thomas King and Ursula (Oslea) Stewart (Stuart) - Paisley m 1760/61
« Reply #1 on: Friday 31 August 18 11:29 BST (UK) »
I note the marriage of David King to Sarah Fick, Falmouth 1798

Assuming this is correct Sarah Fick was born 24 May 1779  Madron, Cornwall, father John.

I cannot find the birth of Thomas or any other children.

I do note that there are about 8 David’s born 1770 – 1780 in England a Wales and a similar number in Scotland, how did you arrive at the one born in Neilston and have you checked the record on Scotland’s People?

Colin
Clarke, Trickett, Orton, Lawless, Norton, Detheridge, Kirby, Goodfellow, Wagstaff, Lowe, etc.

Offline Chris_t

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Family of Thomas King and Ursula (Oslea) Stewart (Stuart) - Paisley m 1760/61
« Reply #2 on: Friday 31 August 18 12:00 BST (UK) »
I note the marriage of David King to Sarah Fick, Falmouth 1798