Author Topic: England & Wales Crime,prisons, punishments 1770-1935: Look up request  (Read 1049 times)

Offline mikecharles49

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
England & Wales Crime,prisons, punishments 1770-1935: Look up request
« on: Friday 31 August 18 14:37 BST (UK) »
Could anybody kindly look me up an entry in the crime registers for my likely ancestor:
Albert Edward Robson, born 1868 in Leeds.  Lived mainly in Doncaster.  There should be criminal entries for him in 1893 at York, series MEP06 and HO140.
           I would love to have full details of his misdemeanors.  A carriage trimmer/cabinet maker by trade, his wife Alice died young in 1894 in Doncaster.  Albert himself later went to the city of Buffalo in the USA where he died young in 1902, leaving two daughters in England.
        Many thanks indeed.

Offline ciderdrinker

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: England & Wales Crime,prisons, punishments 1770-1935: Look up request
« Reply #1 on: Friday 31 August 18 15:02 BST (UK) »
Hi
Here's one
Albert Edward Robson sent to Portland Prison born Leeds 1868 5ft 4in swarthy complexion black hair and brown eyes.
Tatoos sailor on chest,falg and anchor on right bracelet,A.R. on left arm,dot right thumb,3 dots between thumb and fingers.Mole right back.Scar  left finger.
Crime Rape Leeds (York) 7 years Convicted  9.3.1893 release 8.3.1900
But released early at Holborn to 29 Brooke St (several on page have same address so presumably a hostal or some kkind) as coach trimmer 6.7.1898.
His address on charge was Ash St,Poppleton Road York.

He attacked a young woman at Acomb on the Dec 26th 1892 called Rachel Hedley a domestic servant.She was in the service of Major Thacker at Poppleton Villa,Poppleton Road.She returned there in the evening in a shaken ,trembling and exhausted state according to her mistress Mrs Thacker.