Author Topic: Wiliam Cowell, Robert William Cowell, Herbert Cowel,l Soho Southwark  (Read 900 times)

Offline deejayEn

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Wiliam Cowell, Robert William Cowell, Herbert Cowel,l Soho Southwark
« on: Saturday 08 September 18 19:30 BST (UK) »
I'm looking for information about William Cowell who was born in 1824 in Marylebone and was a music printer by trade in and around Soho and Seven Dials. His son Robert William Cowell was born in 1846 in Soho. He was a metal worker by trade. His son Herbert Cowell born in 1879 was a metal worker like his father and was, I believe, later a member of the Labour party.
I am interested in finding out more about them and seeing any photographs if anyone has any, I'm especially interested in finding out more about the printer William Cowell, what type of music he printed and what happend to him and about Herbert's connection to The Labour Party.

Offline amondg

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Wiliam Cowell, Robert William Cowell, Herbert Cowel,l Soho Southwark
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 09 September 18 11:40 BST (UK) »
William Cowell was deceased by 1899 as a city directory has Susan Cowell at 37 New Compton Street Finsbury, no William listed.

19 November 1900 Susan is admitted to Ladbrook Grove Infirmary, nearest relative Lily Cowell, 30 Clipston (lookslike) Street, South Kensington. Susan died there 18 January 1901 and is buried at St Marylebone age76.

There is a William Cowell buried at St Marylebone in 1890 that could be him.

Offline ciderdrinker

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 10 September 18 11:29 BST (UK) »
Hello
William Timothy Cowell baptised at St Matrylebone's s of William and Sarah Cowell father dec  16th July 1826.He was born 2 Feb? 1823.
His sister Elizabeth Emma born 27 May 1826 was baptised the same time.