Author Topic: Burial Records  (Read 1750 times)

Offline Matherino

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Burial Records
« on: Wednesday 12 September 18 10:37 BST (UK) »
Hi
I'm relatively new to all this. Can anyone give me some general pointers to finding burial records. Short of trailing round every cemetery in Northumberland, would a visit to the archives at Woodhorn (20 mins away for me) be beneficial? I would add that I've never visited an archive before. The information I have for some ancestors is the year they died and roughly where they lived at the time of death. Would I need to order and see the death cert to get the exact place and date of death. Places I have are the Rothbury area, Cowpen and Alnwick. Finding a grave of some of these individuals may help trace dates of death for certain spouses for whom I've been unable to trace a date of death.
Any help greatly appreciated.
Paul

Online Tickettyboo

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Burial Records
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 12 September 18 11:19 BST (UK) »
Yes, the archives would be a good bet for the information, but unless you are near enough and have the time to visit regularly I'd advise doing some groundwork first to have an idea of which records to look at.

What sort of time frame are you talking about?
If you can give us an example, (name, age, year of death, any census info etc you have to show where they were living) we can perhaps help with where and how to search for that time frame and area.

Boo

Offline Matherino

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 12 September 18 14:01 BST (UK) »
Hi, thanks for your response.