Author Topic: James Glynn?Elizabeth Turnbull  (Read 1029 times)

Offline Maggott

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
James Glynn?Elizabeth Turnbull
« on: Wednesday 03 October 18 22:47 BST (UK) »
Good evening
I'm totally new to Northumberland research, so please forgive obvious idiocy:

I'm trying to trace James Glynn b 1773ish who I think may have married an Elizabeth Turnbull.  He was father of Joseph Glynn  & operated Ouseburn foundry from about 1817,
The family are easy to follpw as the 19th century went on, but I'm focused on the 18th century Glynns

I should be grateful for any information at all -this is a new enterprisse for me
Best
Maggott

Offline Tickettyboo

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: James Glynn?Elizabeth Turnbull
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 04 October 18 00:11 BST (UK) »
Do you have their wills?
http://familyrecords.dur.ac.uk/nei/data/simple.php

If you go there and put Glynn in the search box, select them all (there are only four first names turning up) then follow the instructions about how to follow through to the images on family search.

Wills 'may' give a  clues  to other family members: spouses, children, siblings and even parents.

You may get lucky :-)

Boo

Offline Tickettyboo

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 04 October 18 00:45 BST (UK) »
hmm  I had a looksee.
There only seems to be one will, for a Joseph Glynn of Morpeth, who wrote his will in 1808 and probate was granted in 1809. He named his son as James Glynn,of Newcastle upon Tyne ironfounder as his sole executor, apart from an annuity and use of the house which he bequeathed to his wife Ann and a bequest to his daughter Mary Stewart Glynn, James was the main beneficiary.

The other entries are administration bonds
2 for James Glynn, ironfounder, Newcastle one dated 1826 and one dated 1828 - both mention a widow called Elizabeth