Author Topic: Marriage Data for Lanarkshire?  (Read 857 times)

Offline Walter Stevens

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Marriage Data for Lanarkshire?
« on: Thursday 04 October 18 16:03 BST (UK) »
Hi there I'm a genealogical newbie, but I've done ok with the help of familysearch. Scotland has me stumped though. Why when I search for people (eg Annie McIntyre  b c1870) looking for her marriage to Mitchell, do I only get birth and census data back? Are marriages recorded elsewhere? Btw I know they had a child, Annie McIntyre  Mitchell in around 1891 in Lanarkshire, but I don't know their religion.
Stevens Bolus Goulding Pike Davis

Offline GrahamSimons

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Marriage Data for Lanarkshire?
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 04 October 18 16:20 BST (UK) »
Scotland's People is the website you need..... https://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
Simons Barrett Jaffray Waugh Langdale Heugh Meade Garnsey Evans Vazie Mountcure Glascodine Parish Peard Smart Dobbie Sinclair....
in Stirlingshire, Roxburghshire; Bucks; Devon; Somerset; Northumberland; Carmarthenshire; Glamorgan

Offline Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • http://www.rootschat.com/links/01ruz/
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 04 October 18 16:41 BST (UK) »
http://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php?topic=714261.0

FamilySearch only has Scottish births and marriages to about 1874, plus one or two later ones. So obviously they won't have the marriage of anyone born in 1870-ish. In any case they only have indexes and transcriptions, not actual original documents.

There's a birth of Ann McIntyre Mitchell in Barrhead and Levern in 1889, and a marriage of George Mitchell to Annie McIntyre in Anderston (Glasgow) in 1886. You can download images of the original certificates at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk