Author Topic: Colourising the Kizmiaz way!  (Read 29970 times)

Offline kizmiaz

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Colourising the Kizmiaz way!
« on: Tuesday 06 September 05 00:23 BST (UK) »
Right, as I've been asked to do a tutorial on colourising (sorry to any Americans out there, but that's how I am going to spell it, except when talking about the Photoshop commands), here goes.

Apologies for long-windedness, repetition and obviousness. (This is my first time using Photoshop so the obviousness is for my benefit. I'm finding my way around the program as I go, so hope this works out!)

Start with a clean, repaired picture. Its far easier to repair a b&w or sepia picture and then colourise it than to repair a colour picture.
Open the picture and make sure it is in RGB mode (Image -> Mode -> RGB Color)
Next we need to create a duplicate layer to colourise.

Go to Layer -> Duplicate Layer. It doesn't matter what its called. Press OK. This will create a new layer (called Background copy in the Layers toolbox). This will be the "skin" layer.

To colourise it, go to Image -> Adjustments -> Hue/Saturation, or press CTRL and U. Make sure "colorised" box is ticked. (For the skin tone in this, I used Hue = 22, Saturation = 19, Lightness = 0). This will colour then entire layer.

Offline kizmiaz

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Colourising the Kizmiaz way!
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 06 September 05 00:27 BST (UK) »
Now use the Lasso tool to select an area close to but not inside the face area. It doesn't matter how rough this bit is as long as you don't go too near the face. Go to Select -> Inverse and hit the Delete key. This should leave a roughly face-shaped and coloured area. Right-click and choose Deselect.

Offline kizmiaz

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 06 September 05 00:33 BST (UK) »